# A' Δημοτικό Σχολείο Παραμυθιάς 1st Primary School of Paramythia







### A` Δημοτικό Σχολείο Παραμυθιάς 1st Primary School of Paramythia

# UNIVERSITIES OF GREECE





Higher education in Greece consists of:

- 1. Institutions of Higher Education
- 2. Institutions of Technological Education

### 1. Institutions of Higher Education

#### The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki

The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTh) is the largest university in Greece. The main campus is located in the centre of the city of Thessaloniki and covers an area of about 430,000 square metres. Some educational and administrative facilities are located off campus or in other cities.

It comprises **10 faculties** which consist of **40 schools** and 1 single-school faculty. There are **61 clinics** (of Medicine, Dentistry and Veterinary Medicine), 295 legislated labs and 23 study rooms. The central library of the AUTh, one of the biggest in the Balkans, together with the 45 peripheral libraries of faculties and schools (17 of which are statutory) comprise the system of libraries of AUTh.

The AUTh offers 41 undergraduate study programmes and 68 postgraduate ones among which there are some inter-departmental and inter-institutional ones and also some in collaboration with other universities in Greece and abroad. These can also lead to awarding

**Doctorate Diplomas ((PhD).** 



#### **The National Technical University**

The National Technical University (NTUA) is the oldest and most prestigious educational institution of Greece in the field of technology, and has contributed unceasingly to the country's scientific, technical and economic development since its foundation in 1836. It is closely linked with Greece's struggle for independence, democracy and social progress. In Greek, NTUA is called the "Ethnicon Metsovion Polytechnion" which stands for National Metsovion Polytechnic. It was named "Metsovion" to honor the donors and benefactors Nikolaos Stournaris, Eleni Tositsa, Michail Tositsas and Georgios Averof, all from Metsovo, a small town in the region of Epirus, who made substantial donations in the last half of the 19th century.

NTUA is divided into nine academic Schools, eight being for the engineering sciences, including architecture, and one for the general sciences.

- School of civil engineering
- School of Mechanical Engineeering
- School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
- School of Architecture
- School of Chemical Engineering
- School of Rural and Surveying Engineering
- School of Mining Engineering and Metallurgy
- School of Naval Architecture and marine Engineering
- School of Applied Mathematical and Physical Science



#### The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

The idea of establishing a University in Greece emerged alongside with the Greek War of Independence, also known as the Greek Revolution. The National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, officially founded in April 14th, 1837, is the first University not only of Greece but both the Balkan peninsula and the Eastern Mediterranean region.

**School of Economics and Political Sciences** 

School of Education

**School of Health Sciences** 

**School of Law** 

**School of Philosophy** 

School of Physical Education and Sport Science

**School of Science** 

**School of Theology** 



#### **Military School of Cadets**

The mission of The Military School of Cadets is to:

- **a**. Produce and transmit knowledge to the cadets and its students through survey and teaching of the Military Science as well as the related theoretical, exact and applied sciences.
- **b**. Develop the military virtues and military education so as to create officers of land army with military conscience, higher leveleducation a swell as social, cultural and political education giving them the right skills to become able leaders.
- **c**. Design and organize Postgraduate study programmes and Research Programmes on Military Science issues.



#### 2. Institutions of Technological Education

Higher Technological Education's role is to contribute to the development of the country and the progress of science and applied research. The education focuses on the assimilation and transfer of scientific data to the production. Studying at the Institutions of Technological Education is more applied than in Institutions of Higher Education.

In Greece there are 14 Institutions of Technological Education which consist of at least two Schools consisting of two or more faculties. They are located in various Greek cities while some of them have independent branches, that is independent faculties in another city. Studies in the Technological Institutions last **4 years**, divided in 8 semesters.

They provide **81 specialities** in the areas of:

- Graphic Arts and Art Studies
- Administration and Finance
- Health and Welfare professions
- Technological applications
- Technology of Food and Diet
- Technology of Agriculture
- Music Technology



### A ` Δημοτικό Σχολείο Παραμυθιάς 1st Primary School of Paramythia



